ACCEND

From wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

**Note, this space is currently in development**

Overview

This is a space for sharing knowledge about large-scale electrification modeling and related efforts occuring within the federal government.

Background

There are several different federal departments that work on different aspects of large-scale electrification modeling. While they share similar goals, they have different pathways, programs, policies and R&D.

In late 2018, a need was identified to build up Canadian capacity to carry out large-scale electrification modelling studies similar to that performed for Pan-Canadian Wind Integration Study (PCWIS), RESCI and North American Renewable Integration Study (NARIS). From there CanmetENERGY-Varennes (CEV) held a workshop in February 2019 on creating an open modelling platform for deep decarbonisation studies attended by NRCan, ECCC, and public stakeholders. That summer, the Energy Modeling Initiative (EMI) was created with funding from REED (NRCan) with the goal of creating (1) an inventory of Canadian expertise and (2) a 10 year plan for developing Canadian capacity to model electrification. A need was then identified to provide a coordinated government response to the EMI call[1]

Targets for 2050

  • Net-zero buildings
  • Net-zero communities
  • Decarbonization of the economy focusing on electrification
  • New and disruptive technologies and fuels to contribute to deep decarbonization
  • Fully grid integrated distributed energy resources (renewables, flexible loads, storage, etc.)
  • An electric grid supporting a deeply decarbonized economy
  • Decarbonization of the transportation sector

Purpose

The purpose of the Federal Family Working Group on Electrification is to foster intra and inter-departmental relationships on activities relating to large-scale electrification modeling. This greater understanding of the federal electrification modeling ecosystem will hopefully generate more endogenous co-creation and science & policy integration.

Inventory of Federal Initiatives

The Canada Energy Futures report

Joint NRCan report with IEA: Heating and Cooling Strategies in the Clean Energy Transition

The Linkable Open Data Environment

Various building energy mapping initaitives

ECCC electrification modeling

Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency

Testing heat pump water power with NB power, cold-climate heat pumps, demonstration projects. NB looking at demand response through water heater storage, becoming cost-effective, pay off upfront cost over life-cycle

Environment and Climate Change Canada

ECPRO, energy pathways towards 2050, study ongoing with ECCC, similar cases to Trottier

New forecasting tools for wind derived from ECCC empirical model

Natural Resources canada

Demand response models for building technologies

Energy Modeling Initiative

Statistics Canada

Canadian Centre for Energy Information

Survey on all buildings in Canada

Important links

Documents and media will be accessible through the FFWGOE GCcollab space, which can only be accessed by federal employees with a GCcollab account.

Any important links which do not need to protected can be shared directly in this section.

Federal Family Organizational Chart

File:Organizational Structure of the Federal Family Working Group on Electrification.docx

Contacts

First Name Last Name Department Role Sector* Branch* Division* Group* Email Topics
David Caughey NRCan Policy Analyst Energy Technology CanmetENERGY-Varennes Integration, Renewable & Distributed Energy david.caughey@canada.ca Policy, decarbonisation, energy transition, renewable integration
Véronique Delisle NRCan Project Manager Energy Technology CanmetENERGY-Varennes Integration, Renewable & Distributed Energy veronique.delisle@canada.ca
Adam Tuck NRC Energy, Mining & Environment Energy Storage for Grid Sec. and Mod. Adam.Tuck@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca
Afshin Matin ECCC Head Environmental Protection Electricity and Combustion Division afshin.matin@canada.ca Policy, decarbonisation (electriticy supply)
Ahmed Eliwa ECCC Policy Analyst Environmental Protection Electricity and Combustion Division System Integration/Electricity ahmed.eliwa@canada.ca Regulations, decorbanisation (electrical grid, industrial heat)
Alain Grignon NRCan Sr. Data Strategist Strategic Policy & Innovation Strategic Policy Economic Analysis and Data alain.grignon@canada.ca Data, democratised decarbonisation
Alessandro Alasia Statscan Chief Centre, Special Business Projects Data Exploration & Integration Lab alessandro.alasia@canada.ca
Alexandre Prieur NRCan Director Energy Technology CanmetENERGY-Varennes Integration, Renewable & Distributed Energy N/A alexandre.prieur@canada.ca
Antoine Langlois NRCan Project Engineer Energy Technology CanmetENERGY-Varennes Buildings N/A antoine.langlois@canada.ca Policy, decarbonisation, heating electrification,
Ted Parisé ACOA Economic Development Officer New Brunswick Regional Operations Community Development Innovation / Enterprise Development ted.parise@canada.ca Smart grids
Hana Maqsood ECCC Policy Analyst Environmental Protection Cross-Sectoral Energy hana.maqsood2@canada.ca Policy, regulations, electrification
James Lu ECCC Strategic Policy Economic Analysis james.lu@canada.ca Renewables, national energy capacity
Karen Robertson ECCC Policy Analyst Environmental Protection Cross-Sectoral Energy karen.robertson2@canada.ca Policy, provinces & territories, electrification
Matthew Lewis ECCC Economist Strategic Policy Economic Analysis Analysis and Modelling matthew.lewis@canada.ca Transportation (emissions projections, electrification)
Raj Ghosh ECCC Project Engineer Environmental Protection Electricity & Combustion System Integration/Electricity raj.ghosh@canada.ca Policy, system integration, electrification, grid modernisation, emissions reductions
Eddy Zuppel NRC Program Leader Automotive & Surface Transportation Manufacturing & Transportation Eddy.Zuppel@cnrc-nrc.gc.ca Transport electrification
Patrick Zdunich NRC Flight Performance Engineer Aerospace Flight Research Lab Patrick.Zdunich@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca Hybrid electric aircraft
Shaji Manipurath NRC Director Aerospace Gas Turbines Shaji.Manipurath@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca Aviation decarbonisation
Brad Little NRCan Sr. Technical Advisor Low Carbon Energy Electricity Resources Renewable & Electrical Energy bradley.little@canada.ca National electrification, smart grids, grid modernisation
Cristobal Miller NRCan Chief Low Carbon Energy Energy Policy Energy & Economic Analysis cristobal.miller@canada.ca Policy, electrification, energy transition, energy systems
Eric Sanscartier NRCan eric.sanscartier@canada.ca
Hajo Ribberink NRCan Research Engineer Energy Technology CanmetENERGY-Ottawa Buildings & Renwables Hybrid Energy Systems hajo.ribberink@canada.ca Vehicle electrification & grid integration
Harris Berton NRCan Sr. Advisor Energy Technology Office of Energy Research & Dev. harris.berton@canada.ca Policy, electrification, R&D
Jessica Webster NRCan Energy Planning Analyst Energy Technology CanmetENERGY-Varennes Building jessica.webster@canada.ca Building energy mapping, housing energy efficiency
Jocelyn Millette NRCan Director General Energy Technology CanmetENERGY-Varennes N/A N/A jocelyn.millette@canada.ca
Justin Tamasauskas NRCan Research Officer Energy Technology CanmetENERGY-Varennes Buildings justin.tamasauskas@canada.ca Heat pumps
Laura Martin NRCan Assistant Program Director Energy Technology Office of Energy Research & Dev. Production Clean Electricity & Renewables laura.martin@canada.ca Policy, regulations, clean energy production (includes oil & gas sector electrification)
Marie Lyne Tremblay NRCan Deputy Director Energy Office of Energy Research & Dev. Buildings & Industry Buildings Data, Greening Gov't marielyne.tremblay@canada.ca Emissions reduction, energy use data
Matthew Lam NRCan Sr. Economist Low Carbon Energy Energy Policy Energy & Economic Analysis Outlooks & Research matthew.lam@canada.ca Electricity supply, energy use, vehicle electrification
Meli Stylianou NRCan Manager Energy Technology CanmetENERGY-Ottawa Buildings & Renewables Housing and Buildings R&D meli.stylianou@canada.ca
Naveen Goswamy NRCan Energy Technology Office of Energy Research & Dev. Energy S&T Programs Smart Grid & Energy Storage naveen.goswamy@canada.ca Smart grid, energy storage
Reda Djebbar NRCan Sr. Research Engineer Energy Technology CanmetENERGY-Ottawa Buildings & Renewables Renewable Heat & Power reda.djebbar@canada.ca
Rosalyn Cochrane NRCan Team Leader Low Carbon Energy Office of Energy Research & Dev. Equipment Standards Development rosalyn.cochrane@canada.ca Policy, data, heat pumps (cold climate)
Ryan Kilpatrick NRCan Research Engineer Energy Technology CanmetENERGY-Ottawa Buildings & Renewables Renewable Heat & Power ryan.kilpatrick@canada.ca Grid integration (renewables), remote communities
Serge Bédard NRCan Manager Energy Technology CanmetENERGY-Varennes Industry Industrial System Optimization serge.bedard@canada.ca Industrial decarbonisation, electrification
Simon Préfontaine NRCan Acting Chief Energy Policy Energy & Economic Analysis Data & Statistics simon.prefontaine@canada.ca
Steven Wong NRCan Research Advisor Energy Technology CanmetENERGY-Varennes Integration, Renewable & Distributed Energy steven.wong@canada.ca
Victoria Elgersma NRCan Jr. Analyst Low Carbon Energy Electricity Resources Renewable & Electrical Energy victoria.elgersma@canada.ca
Tracey Kutney NRCan Sr. Technical Advisor Low Carbon Energy Electricity Resources Renewable & Electrical Energy tracey.kutney@canada.ca National electrification, smart grids, grid modernisation
Neil Thompson Public Safety Sr. Policy Analyst National & Cyber Security Critical Infrastructure Directorate Virtual Risk Analysis Cell Neil.Thompson@canada.ca Data, critical infrastructure risks, system interdependency
Jake Purdy Statcan Chief Economic Stats Field Environment & Energy Statistics Electricity & Renewable Energy jake.purdy@canada.ca Data, energy information platforms
Joseph Kuchar Statcan joseph.kuchar@canada.ca
Marian Radulescu Statcan marian.radulescu@canada.ca
Olivier Godard Statcan Economic Stats Field Environment & Energy Statistics Electricity & Renewable Energy olivier.godard@canada.ca Data, energy information platforms
Sasha Force Statcan Researcher IT Project Delivery User Experience sasha.force@canada.ca Data
Taylor Graf PSPC Taylor.Graf@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca

*Hierarchical levels are approximate and do not necessarily translate from department to department or sector to sector.

Department Acronyms

ACOA = Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency

ECCC = Environment and Climate Change Canada

NRCan = Natural Resources Canada

NRC = National Research Canada

PCSP = Public Services and Procurement Canada

Statcan = Statistics Canada

References

  1. citation needed